Guy Bujold

Interim Vice-chairperson and Acting Chairperson

Professional photograph of Commission Vice-chairperson, Guy Bujold

Guy Bujold was appointed as Interim Vice-chairperson and Acting Chairperson, on September 28, 2017.

Before his retirement from CANARIE Inc. in February of 2010 where he had been the President and CEO since October of 2008, Mr. Bujold held a number of senior positions in the federal public service, including those of President of the Canadian Space Agency; Assistant Deputy Minister responsible for Special Projects in the Deputy Minister’s Office, Assistant Deputy Minister of the Science and Innovation Sector, and Assistant Deputy Minister of the Operations Sector at Industry Canada; Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Communications at Infrastructure Canada; Deputy Commissioner of the Canadian Coast Guard; and Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services for both the Department of Finance and the Treasury Board Secretariat.

During his more than 33-year career in the federal public service, Mr. Bujold also held the positions of Director of Health Policy; Executive Director, Policy Coordination; and Director General of Intergovernmental Affairs at Health Canada. Mr. Bujold also worked as a policy analyst and program manager at the Treasury Board Secretariat and the Department of Finance.

Since retiring, Mr. Bujold has provided advice in the areas of policy, program development and uptake, and communications to government, and to for- and not-for-profit organizations. He is a member of the Board of the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario Research Institute.

Mr. Bujold holds an undergraduate degree from Laurentian University, Sudbury, and a Masters degree in Economics from York University, Toronto.

Date modified:

Guy Bujold

Vice-président intérimaire, président par intérim

Photographie professionnelle du président de la Commission, Guy Bujold

Guy Bujold a été nommé vice-président intérimaire, président par intérim, le 29 septembre, 2017.

Avant de prendre sa retraite en février 2010 de CANARIE Inc., où il était président-directeur général depuis octobre 2008, M. Bujold avait occupé divers postes supérieurs au sein de la fonction publique fédérale, notamment ceux de président de l'Agence spatiale canadienne; de sous-ministre adjoint responsable des projets spéciaux au Bureau du sous-ministre, de sous-ministre adjoint du Secteur des sciences et de l'innovation, et de sous-ministre adjoint du Secteur des opérations à Industrie Canada; de sous-ministre adjoint principal, Politiques et Communications à Infrastructure Canada; de sous-commissaire de la Garde côtière canadienne; et de sous-ministre adjoint des Services ministériels pour le ministère des Finances et pour le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

Au cours de sa carrière de plus de 33 ans au sein de la fonction publique fédérale, M. Bujold a également occupé les postes de directeur des politiques en matière de santé; de directeur exécutif de la coordination des politiques; et de directeur général des affaires intergouvernementales à Santé Canada. Par ailleurs, M. Bujold a travaillé comme analyste des politiques et comme gestionnaire de programme au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor ainsi qu'au ministère des Finances.

Depuis qu'il est à la retraite, M. Bujold offre des conseils au gouvernement ainsi qu'à des organismes à but lucratif et non lucratif dans les secteurs des politiques, de l'élaboration et de l'adoption de programmes, et de la communication. Il est membre, et président du comité de gouvernance, du conseil d'administration de l'Institut de recherche du Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l'Est de l'Ontario.

M. Bujold est titulaire d'un diplôme de premier cycle de l'Université Laurentienne, à Sudbury, et d'une maîtrise en économie de l'Université York, à Toronto.

Date de modification :